The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city center. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increase in population has brought some social problems to many overpopulated, countries. One of the main concerns nowadays is to find alternatives to reduce traffic and emission of gases in cities. A recently suggested way to solve that situation is moving from the suburbs or countryside community to the city centre. I tend to disagree with that proposal since this change is likely to be inefficient and bring some negative impacts to the community. The raise of people interest in rent or buy properties in downtown will make the city more expensive to live because of the higher price of rentals and sales. Take Toronto as an example. Canada opened several programs to incentive immigration and due to that, the demand for rentals enhanced and a direct consequence was the large difference between the value of a property before and after that. This abandonment of the suburb would affect directly the local business. The more people living in a place, the more opportunities to business in the region. Many outlying areas from the city are unlikely to receive supermarket chains or big companies due to the location. Therefore, families often see that as a chance to establish a local store. There are more effective initiatives to manage traffic and pollution problems. As an example, many developed countries are currently offering to companies fiscal benefits in order to reduce the number of gases released that affect the atmosphere. Moreover, another alternative to reduce traffic is making a rotation of cars weekly. For example, cars which the car license plate ends with a number "x" are not allowed to be in the streets on Mondays. To sum up, the number of cars in the street and the amount of polluted gases releases are a social concern and must be under control. However, change the location of the community would not solve this issue, but only concentrating at one place.