Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been observed that the activities people perform in their leisure time and their choices have changed over a period of time since it depends on the recent trends rather than a person's choice. I completely with this observation because people try to copy and follow famous personalities and it also gives them a sense of emotional satisfaction. Most people adopt certain hobbies or areas of interest because few celebrities perform those activities. This appeals common man to follow those activities in their leisure time. For example, reading a self-help book was adapted as a hobby by many people who were inspired by Shahrukh Khan, TV Actor. Thus, people make choices based on recent trends and fashions adapted by such famous personalities. Moreover, performing certain trending activities also provide a sense of achievement. Although, some individuals may not be interested in performing these activities and posting on social media can give them a feeling of pride. For instance, it is seen that most people run marathons and post them on social media because it gives them a sense of achievement rather than choosing activities in their area of interest. Therefore, it can be said that certain hobbies are performed to provide emotional satisfaction. To conclude, activities which people perform in their leisure time has changed over a period of time and according to some people, it is because of constant change which is taking place. In my opinion, this view holds true because choices of hobbies and their field of interest are largely influenced by the role models and the emotional factors such as a sense of achievement and pride.