Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Recently, people throw away much food which was purchased from grocery stores and restaurants. This essay explores the reasons for this phenomenon and a ctions that our society can take to mitigate these issues. There are several reasons why people waste a plethora of food. The obvious one is that people can easily access and buy food now compared to before. This is because the number of shops has increased in the world. As a result, most people prefer to eat freshly prepared food such as vegetables, fruits, and meat since it is tastier than old food, resulting in people’s sense of value for food deteriorates. Another reason is the quantity of each dish in restaurants is getting larger. When people cannot finish all dishes, the food is thrown away. In order to tackle these problems, various measures can be taken. Firstly, the government can charge citizens when they buy garbage bags. Consequently, people avoid producing garbage including food which leads to minimal waste food since food garbage dominants household waste in most cases. Furthermore, the government can also give people information about food donation. If people recognize this service, they would donate their food instead of throwing it away. For instance, in Canada, there is a service of donation called Food Bank, and it is not only giving food for poor people who cannot afford to buy food but also reducing the amount of wasting food because the government of Canada recommends food donation to people. In conclusion, the trend of wasting food comes from various reasons, but the government can take steps to solve these issues.