Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

A few sections of society believe that authority expenditure in arts, such as music, dance and drama, is a misuse of funds. They argue that instead, the government should focus on duties offered to the public; for example, health and infrastructure. In my opinion, I believe that investment in talent is not a waste of resources. In fact,it has increased the government overall revenue as well as exposed the country to the entire globe. To begin with, the entertainment industry happens to be among the top revenue collecting sections; for instance, Uganda Revenue Authority collects at least 30% of revenue from entertainment; this means that the government will greatly benefit from this talent if they continue to invest some funds in this area. This will,in turn, boost the economy of the country. In addition, music has been known to expose a specific country and make it famous because of so many great artists; to cite an example, musicians, like Tiwa Savage, Micheal Jackson, Diamond Platinum and Chameleon, have created a great chatter for their countries making them well-known to the world. This makes different individuals embark on journeys to meet these artists. This gives better holiday destinations for relaxation. Moreover, the young generation is inspired to develop their talents knowing that they can attain support from the authorities In conclusion, it is my perspective that investment in talent will benefit the nation at large. With the various reasons mentioned above, it is a good idea to allocate some funds to art. Although, some funds should also be left to boost other relevant sectors.