In most universities there are more male students than female students on science courses. What is the reason for this? What could be done for balance out the number?

In higher education, the population of male learners in science and technology is exceeding female ‘s figures. This negatively impacts the world of work, as fewer women go into the science and technology sectors. This essay will explore some reasons for this issue and then will propose some solutions. To begin with, the most likely reason for the imbalance is that society reinforces the idea that boys and girls have different interests and abilities. It happens in the early years of development, when girls have been given dolls and in contrast boys given cars and Lego. By doing that, boys are encouraged to build things and latter to care of others. Later, it is a common idea that girls are better in Art and Language whereas boys are mastery in a special sense and numerical. There is no evidence to prove that biological differences between sexes make one group more talented than the other in a specific area. It is societies that say male are better in math and physics while art and humanities serve girls better. Moreover, the lack of female role models in discipline escalates the problem. As media portrays the scientific movies geeky and boring. Cartoons tend to show scientists are eccentric with the violent appearance in the messy room doing experiments which do not appeal to girls’ interest. These are false stereotypes in the media. Given those points, it is important to tackle this issue right from a child's’ early education. By the time young women are in university, it may be already too late to change their mind. Hence, for very young children neutral- play needs to be raised in a free- bias environment that helps them to explore their inner interest and abilities. Those exploration can be guided in future by exposing them into creative, vibrant and update scientific movies and documentaries. We need to show them that science is fun and interesting. in conclusion, to balance the number of boys and girls in technology and math courses, should take some measures that avoid the stereotype thinking of science serves males also improve the neutral- play among kids.