Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are general harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with developing economies, while others think that these companies have a negative impact on underdeveloped nations. This essay will discuss both the arguments and provide evidence why multinational corporations have a generally positive effect on such nations while having a few downsides. On the one hand, one key advantage of having international companies in underdeveloped countries is that it offers employment opportunities to local residents. It means that people can have a source of income. In addition, these corporations invest a huge surplus of income in poor nations to expand their business. Because of that, they offer not only jobs but also other health facilities free of cost. Amazon, for example, this firm has open a significant amount of factories in developing countries and offering free health care, high wages, and free education to their workers. As a consequence, people are earning and saving a proportion of funds for their children. On the other hand, there is also a negative side which cannot be underestimated. One such issue is that multinational companies can take customers from the local market. This means that local businesses are likely to close down. For instance, McDonald's and KFC have a much larger budget for advertising due to that many local restaurant sales are going to be decreased growth. Although it is good to have competition which shows sign of economic, it can be argued that these large companies have an unfair advantage over small businesses. In conclusion, while multinational companies are a medium of earning wages in developing nations, they can also threaten small businesses. In my opinion, despite having some negatives, I believe global corporations are generally beneficial. However, I would argue that developing governments should provide support and protect local firms in order to develop all around.