With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Fossil fuels are on the list of high demanding power sources worldwide, and that is also the reason why many think that we should search for new sources in new lands. From my perspective, I disagree with the above idea since the drawback of exploiting oil and gas overshadows the benefits. Firstly, environmental contamination can be put forward to elaborate on why searching for new sources of oil and gas in unexplored lands should not proceed. More precisely, petroleum drilling can release not only oil to the environment but also hazardous waste. When these chemical elements escape into water, soil, and air of the surrounding areas, they can cause serious environmental damages. For instance, if accidents happen and hardly contain, mercury and radioactive materials from the drills can generate mass dead zones. Secondly, even though oil and gas industry is seen as a primary industry that can provide countries with energy independence and the capacity to control the importers, the price of environmental contamination is enormous, and we can avoid it by using green power. In reality, engineers and scientists are working on renewable energy to replace oil and gas, which is environmentally friendly. Taking hydroelectric plants as an example, it can basically replace the demand for electricity for the whole country. As a result, we can avoid the dependant on fossil fuel at the highest level. In conclusion, in the views of the arguments outlined above, I believe that it is necessary to avoid building more petroleum power plants in remote areas to protect our living environment.