Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people believe that famous products with a high number of sales show the power of advertising and is not necessary for the targeted society. I personally disagree with this statement. First of all, advertising itself is a part of the strategies for selling. Advertisement does not depend on the situation or the real need of the product. When a company establishes a new product, it would make an impactful advertisement as part of its marketing strategy either the product is necessary or not. As the result, if the product becomes a trend in the community it is not only because of the advertisement. Secondly, as we have known in economic law there is a proverb says that when there is a demand then there is production. In another word, if there is a product that becoming popular and reaches the peak of sales rapidly, it means the product is the reflection of people's need. For instance, masks and hand sanitizers are becoming the most wanted items in this covid-19 pandemic era even though they might not be published in a massive way. This situation proofs that high sales in consumer good are because the product is needed. Thirdly, the factors of high selling do not only depend on the ads but also the quality of the item, the cost and consumer's preference. A product that is introduced well by advertisement is not always becoming a trending item if the quality is poor or the cost is unaffordable. All in all, there are plenty of reasons why a product can make a boom. It is not always about the advertisement only.