The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this contemporary era, financing on arts, music and theatre is a mere wastage of funds by the government instead it should invest in civil services. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of concerns in one’s life. However, I do not entirely accept this and I will explain why in the following essay. There are numerous reasons why the government spends money on public work. Firstly, constructing hospitals for the poor which improves the standard of living in the country. If the government does not spend enough amount on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. Secondly, building free schools to make optimum use of it by the lower category of people. Also, it will be the poor in our society that will be affected more if we do not spend enough on such things because they are the ones more dependent on such services. For example, in a recent article, I read in the newspaper states that a boy from slum became a millionaire after gaining skills from the government school. However, this does not mean that arts should be neglected by the government completely. Art institutions rely on government funding to run their services and sustain themselves in the market. Theatres and music may have to close if there are no funds given to them by the government. Moreover, the arts, music and theatre do have an impact on the quality of life for society. Theatres provide the entertainment and act as a stress buster whereas music gives immense pleasure to the mass. For instance, people prefer watching theatre in order to get rid of their stressful life. To conclude, investment in public services by the government is a tremendous job done by the government but funding arts, music and theatre is not a waste of money as well.