Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The corporate world is now taking due care of their staff members for better and qualitative productivity. Henceforth, seeking interview candidate personal details such as an area of interest and activities they prefer to do in their spare time or even about their marital status, is a common trait in today’s world. It is still debatable that this data is indeed important and needed for the purpose or not. This data is irrelevant in the case of interviewees because an organization has no effective use of their personal data, on the other hand, if they start working with the group, then it is vital for a business to develop the feeling of attachment and receive quality task assignment from them. In my opinion, the usefulness of these inputs from candidates depends on their future with the company. The emotional satisfaction is the desired element that individual wants from its workplace. As a result, the Human Resource department keeps a record of staff member’s relationship status so that they can greet them with gifts and other material, and this will indeed make them feel delighted. More so, to keep the attrition rate low and for better productivity, by doing this, the business owner kept their employees happy by making them feel special and part of the association. For instance, in the latest survey done by the Human Foundation, it has been observed that people who get rewards from their employer over and above the basic pay, stay with the organization for the longer term. Adding to this, noting down the data of member’s favourite pastime is required to keep a track of people who can participate in extracurricular activities such as annual day, quarterly meet up and others. This will not only allow them to do something different apart from the monotonous schedule but also let them pursue their passion This all sounds feasible till the time candidate for the job position have been selected and started working for the firm. But at the same time, their personal data such as hobbies, marital status, and others have no importance, if candidates fail to join for work. In that case, this data is just the information with no meaning attached to it. Along with that, this record will only pile up as an un-necessary maintenance task for the people in the team. For example, in an interview given by the Human Resource Head, clearly mention that taking extra details from candidate adds up to their efforts and they end up as worthless when same human beings fail to be a part of the team. Henceforth, in my strong opinion, this information is only required by the business when the individual has joined the organization and started working for them, otherwise, this information is a mere formality for the employers. In conclusion, asking for personal details from job seekers is helpful and suitable or not depends on the factor that, the person is actually onboarded on job or not.