Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Grandparents are the root of the family tree and we can' t imagine our lives without their existence. However, it is argued that grandparents should spend their last time in old age home for better health care facilities. I strongly disagree with this thought and I believe grandparents should spend their last with family while playing with their grandchildren. One can' t imagine a house without its roof the same way, we can' t imagine our lives without our grandparents. Forefathers are the backbone of the family, they not only bound us together but also they shower their love and care on us. Along with this, they are the value system for their bloodline. For example, a worrier raises their kids with the stories of the valour while a poet raises their kids with poetry and elegance. Besides this, grandparents also have an emotional connection with the family so the way a family can take care of their elders no one else can do. However, many thought that the old age homes are the best place to spent the last time of life. It is because, not everyone can afford the medical requirements of their elders; therefore, they can avail the best available medical facilities at the old age home. Besides this, in today's time, the majority remains busy to earn their daily bread so they don' t have sufficient time to take care of their elders well at home. Along with this, grandparents have to participate in the daily chores of a household even if they are not physically fit to do so. For instance, a person living with a family has much more responsibilities compared to a person living alone in an old age home. In conclusion, although elders may get much more comfort at old age homes, they can' t get the emotional attachment, love and care which they get from the family and I believe this is the most important requirement of elders at their lat stage of life.