Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A wide range of people believes that newcomers of a country should have to be respectful to their host by following the local culture. Others have a different perspective that the host needs to be flexible by accepting new behaviour and culture. In my opinion, both views can be true. First of all, every nation owns its culture and rule. Local customs and behaviour are part of its population's identity. They are a value that is introduced and initiated by former residents and have been followed by their generation through the ages so that it cannot be changed that easily. For instance, Indonesian has a habit to shake hand with new people in the first meeting, but it might be different from Japanese and Korean or Western countries. The differences are not something to be argued yet need to be respected. By respecting other countries' way of life, a visitor also learns how to adapt and adjust to the new environment. On the other hand, being open-minded with a new culture is also necessary for local society. This act of welcoming can be considered as a shape of tolerance between the nations. Also, the host country is able to obtain and learn different wisdom from the visitors in which can bring beneficial effect for them. For example, as an Indonesian, I assume myself and most of my society are less punctual than people from East Asian countries and I can learn from them to be more punctual when coming on a gathering with them. This example could be seen as the positive impact of other countries' culture. All in all, both views have their own reasons and they are understandable. As the host, insist on its people's value is definitely important. However, they also need to be flexible with a new insight.