Employer sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are some individuals who believe that, companies obtaining info such as, hobbies, marital status and interests are useful. However, some section of people opposes this. In my opinion, these details should be collected as a process of effective selection criteria. First and foremost, employers seeking personal data of an applicant at the time of the interview will aid them to analyse and conclude, if he or she is the best fit for the position they have applied for. By knowing one’s leisure activities and areas of interest, will lead us to know their behavioural pattern, soft skills and how well they balance their emotions. For instance, if the job demands to travel more frequently from one country to another, then a candidate who is married and has commitment will not be a good fit for this opening. Thus, obtaining private particulars will enable the interviewer to make their decision wisely and find the right choice. On the contrary, pastimes, comforts, and other private information provided by novice should not be an ultimate factor in determining or being judgmental in defining one’s character. The proverb “Do not judge the book, by its cover” which would be very apt for this situation. To cite an example, in order to get hired by fair means or foul, the interviewee will exaggerate about his or her speciality and fads. This occurrence will open the gate for a despicable person to get hired. To conclude, I deem that, by attaining personal details of a job seeker, will be an added advantage during the decision-making process of hiring.