The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move towards the suburbs or countryside from the city centre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, an increasing trend of traffic congestions and climate problems is being witnessed inside densely populated cities. To encounter these problems, many believe that residents of large cities should consider migrating towards suburbs or less populated towns. However, I complete disagree with this statement because this migration can create problems for the residents, and there are other solutions to reduce pollution and traffic issues. First and foremost, the professionals who work inside large cities can face a multitude of challenges to move to the countryside. Some of those challenges include transport and basic leisure facilities. This is because the workers will have to commute back and forth from cities to suburbs on daily basis, which can consequently increase their expenses. Moreover, the non-availability of places for leisure activities in small towns for allowing workers to calm and relax from the work stress can affect their mental health. For example, a person who lives in suburbs and works at a firm located inside the city centre will eventually get back to his home by late evening, or even at night when there is a heavy workload. The strain that occurs on the body due to this routine will in-turn grow health issues. Therefore, instead of moving inside suburbs and countryside, there are other solutions that can result in reducing the traffic problems and the impact on the environment. Firstly, people should consider using electric vehicles instead of conventional motor vehicles that operate on fuel. As a result, a big chunk of pollution can be eliminated that occurs by the burning of fossil fuels to operate these vehicles. Secondly, the government should impose regulations to limit the purchase of vehicles per family. This is because evidently nowadays, on average, a 6-person family owns at least 3 cars for their daily transport needs. This will predominantly reduce the number of vehicles on the roads, and resultantly, reduced traffic. To sum up, migrating towards countryside or small towns to reduce climate impact and traffic problems can create other large problems for the people. Therefore, other solutions like electric vehicles and the policies to allow one vehicle per family can serve large impact on combating with these issues.