Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the majority of kids use the computer excessively for gaming purposes and does not spend enough time for physical activity. The main reason which stands behind this trend is the carefully crafted motivations which are made available inside the games with the help of high technology which in turn attract the attention of youth. It can be considered as a negative development due to its detrimental effect on the health of kids. The availability of cutting-edge technology has an impact on the wide range of applications, including computer games. The addition of special effects, new tasks and solid storylines which are interpreted from the reality is an inevitable opportunity for kids to spend their time with a rush of adrenaline and excitement. For example, Minecraft which is recently designed is one of the most popular games among the children and each update on the game is welcomed with pleasure by their young audience. On the other side, the excessive use of computer games has raised a red flag for the majority of parents concerning the health system of their kids. Considering the fact that computer games are categorized as an indoor activity, the addiction to playing games may prevent children from outdoor games which involve physical activity. Consequently, the unhealthy lifestyle can lead to the creation of certain diseases such as obesity, skeleton related problems and so on which leads to the conclusion is that it is a negative change. For instance, 47% of studies confirm that there is a close connection between the use of computer games and increasing obesity rates. In conclusion, advanced technology enhances the capability of newly created computer games which results with the addiction of most children. Unfortunately, this trend brings the harsh consequences with itself affecting the fitness and healthiness of kids in a negative way.