People today increasingly use credit cards to make monthly purchases. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Credit cards are considered as plastic money to replace the original cash in some critical situations. In this modernised world, predominantly their usage has been increasing drastically by society for paying their monthly expenses because of its merits. This essay would discuss the outweighed advantages over disadvantages with relevant examples. The effective usage of credit card brings in a certain kind of discipline to the individual. A little more in detail, credit card payment gives an additional benefit of using the amount from the bank without interest for a maximum of 50 days. Consequently, to utilise this benefit, people adopt to proper time management by paying their bills on time. For instance, the credit score of citizens is increasing in the recent past years by 17% as per the RBI statistics because of timely payments. In addition, this avoids hard cash usage, consequently, drives the nation towards the digitalization. To be more precise, every transaction done by the credit card becomes a taxable amount and counted as a white transaction. For instance, the governments are pushing the citizens towards the digitalization by decreasing the interest rates of banks. On the other hand, untimely payments make an individual fall under defaulters by the banks. There is a certain time period provided by the bank for each individual based on their transaction dates. People have to abide by that and payback to the banks on time. For example, there are 13% of the overall credit cardholders are blacklisted as defaulters by the banks in the last year. In addition, over usage of money beyond their limits is another criteria, pushing the individuals to avoid the payback to banks. To be more precise, people are losing their financial strength and overspending beyond their capabilities. For example, 8% of the credit card holders are declared as bankruptcy every year against this reason. To conclude, the majority of the people across the world are using credit cards for their monthly expenses. While there are ignorable disadvantages of credit cards, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages if every individual is committed and accountable while using the credit cards.