In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sometimes British people move to old-age homes when they become senior citizens for better treatment and expert care facilities. While some think it is the duty of the government to pay for the expenses, others believe their families should be responsible. Although there are arguments, I radically agree that the administration should take up the responsibility. This essay will discuss the views and explain why I think so. To begin with, families do definitely have a key role to take the responsibility for their elderly's expenses. Parents take care of their child, consequently, children are also responsible to look after them when they grow up. For example, some parents sacrifice so much for their kid's education, upbringing or basic regular expenses that they expect or depend on their children in their old life. Growing old is a natural instinct of anything living, thus everybody should be prepared for that from the beginning. In other words, people could feel helpless after reaching an age, when they would find that there is nobody to bear the expenses. However, some may not have enough earning to support the full family. Furthermore, families could not deny their roles in their elders' lives. On the other hand, the government should take responsibility for all the citizens till to the end. It has several reasons. Firstly, natives pay taxes for their whole working lives, hence this money could be saved for their future. For instance, if 15% of tax is deducted from a person's salary, at least some percentage of this amount could be saved for his old age care. Secondly, sometimes there are people who do not have a family or not in touch with them, therefore, they would not get any facility in the former age if the authority does not support them. A man, aged 70 years, for example, died without treatment in India because he did not have any family to pay the bills. Moreover, the government taking expenses is a good step in order to maintain everybody's basic need. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both views. Though there are pros and cons of both opinions and both families as well as authorities are responsible for every old people to some extent, I reckon that paying for those getting old should be taken care by the government.