The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The first automobile appeared back in the UK in 1 9th century and their amount continued to grow, eventually reaching 29 million in 2000. This trend is worrying and causes many problems for the environment and people, so other types of transport and vehicles should be supported by international standarts and norms, as well as cars should be under strict governmental control. As far as I know, cars play important role in the climate change. Their carbon footprint per year is massive and it causes many problems for the ecology. Before the 2000, cars had lead pieces in their fuel, which made emissions deadly for the atmosphere and generally dealt a lot of damage to the ecological condition of the Earth. Even though lead pieces are not used in fuel production anymore, other chemical elements still pollute the air of Britain and other countries. It is clear that solving the car problem is crucial for saving the Earth. In my opinion, reducing the number of cars will help to mitigate their negative effects on the environment. Busses and other types of public transport will easily replace cars for many people. They are a lot better in terms of time management and efficiency, because they can transport hundreds of passengers at once. There are tonnes of other alternatives to classic cars in the environmental sphere. For example, electrovehicles or bycicles. They do not require benzene or fuel which will hurt the nature, thus, minimizing the negative effects. These actions should be taken by the International Community to fight the climate change. Encouraging public transport, reducing car usage and governmental limitations are the only way to save our planet from destroying itself.