For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, we are living in the era of technology. While reading, writing and maths have remained the main skills of education for centuries, some people now believe that computer skills must be added to the last ones. I completely agree with this view and in this essay I will support my opinion with valid arguments and examples. Firstly, learning computer skills must be compulsory in all schools, especially primary schools, in order to teach students from an early age how to use the computer. According to a survey conducted by The Middle East Institute of Technology, kids can learn computer skills 60% more efficiently than people who start learning at an older age. Consequently, the government should add computer skills to all schools’ syllabi, both state funded and private schools, to ensure that all pupils will gain the benefits of learning this particular subject. Moreover, being able to use the computer effectively is becoming increasingly needed in our daily lives. Take, for example, companies which tend to employ candidates who are professionals in using computers and hold special computer skills certificates as well. Therefore, companies are able to develop more rapidly and be more productive by finishing work tasks in a timely and effective manner with the help of artificial intelligence. To conclude, the world today depends on technology in nearly all aspects. Therefore, I am completely of the opinion that adding computer literacy to the basic education skills such as reading and writing becomes a must and it is the state’s responsibility to enforce the law of adding it in schools’ and colleges’ curriculum.