Some people think that in order to produce a happy society, it is necessary to ensure that there is only a small difference between the earnings of the richest and poorest. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that capping the earnings of rich people may bring equity among the poor and affluent section of the society. I do not agree with the given statement. I believe that only bringing this change would not solve all the problems. Firstly, the government should work on providing employment to unemployed individuals which would automatically raise the income level of people with lower earnings. Reducing the potential of people with sufficient funds can demotivate them which may become the cause of their movement to other countries. For instance, recently, many developed countries have started inviting people from around the world to work and settle in their country. Secondly, rich people invest in new business which generates the employment and interference of the government in their business handlings would demotivate them from investing in new projects. Finally, the community should itself work by providing help to the poor. On the other hand, society has a hierarchy which is identical to a workplace environment where superiors get the tasks done from the superiors and get paid from the organization. Likewise, people with less or no salary get paid for the work they do. Moreover, If everyone in society would have equal income, no one would be able to work for others as everyone would have enough money to pay for their expenses. For instance, getting domestic help in developed countries like USA and Canada is quite difficult because everyone earns enough money and no need to endeavour. To conclude, I would say that disparity between rich and poor people cannot be removed by just capping the incomes of rich people. Rather, rich people must be provided with enough license to start new projects to generate employment for poor people.