Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience..

These days global warming has risen to an alarming rate. Thus, there is always contention among different schools of thought about who is responsible for taking care of it, whether developed countries or the whole world. In my opinion, we all are equally accountable to manage it. I would present both the opinions and justify my state in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, when the environment does not discriminate between nations then why would we. So we should play our part in managing it. Everyone is polluting it at their own level either by littering the streets or by releasing greenhouse gases, we are the one who is required to take actions to overcome it. It is true that affluent nations have more resources to handle this menace in comparison to developing countries but they can make laws and ensure their proper enforcement. For instance, some developing countries have banned the use of polyethene bags and introduced fines if anyone does, Although, people argue that well-established nations are the one who pollutes the environment the most; thus, the onus is on them to take good care of it. They have deteriorated the air by developing industries and did not care about the level of pollutants they were producing. Not only this, they also released effluents in the water consequently damaging the sea environment. Therefore, they are responsible for cleaning it. However, the products produced by these industries are consumed by everyone the world over, without considering the aftermath; hence all should stand together in this crisis. To encapsulate, one cannot run away from their duty by saying that others (developed nations) have the reasons and means to do it, everyone can play their part and contribute to improving it. This is because I believe all are equally liable to manage it.