Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Given the increasing concern about waste from packaging severely polluting the environment, the question of whether companies and supermarkets or customers are held accountable for such a problem has been receiving public attention. From my standpoint, changes from both are desired, but those from companies must precede those from customers. It is understandable why some argue goods producers and supermarkets should take responsibility for limiting their use of packaging. Firstly, customers seem to be unwilling to change their shopping habits due to convenience and their packed schedules. Therefore, they just simply grab what is sold and give little care about whether the products are overly packed. Secondly, large firms and supermarkets initiating actions against wasting resources on packaging tend to enjoy much appreciation from the public. For example, MM Supermarket in Vietnam has utilized readily-available materials such as hay and banana leaves to pack their vegetables and fruits. They also offer discounts to customers who bring personal shopping bags. Such changes have not only saved the company costs for packaging but also brought about positive reactions from the public. Having said that, changes in shopping behaviours from customers are also desired in the combat against the unnecessary use of packaging. This stands to reasons that the market is swayed by the force of Supply-and-Demand, and thus if customers boycott companies which overpack, this will actively render manufacturers to the state of adopting more sensible packaging practices. In addition, a sustainable method of packaging seems to be largely embraced by small to medium-sized companies whose influences on the market are not as powerful as the acclaimed but not as environmentally-friendly ones. Therefore, customers should take preference of products from green businesses so that they can survive in today’s fierce market and thus continue their sustainable ways of packaging. In conclusion, I believe that not only producers and supermarkets but also customers should start embarking on producing and buying goods with fewer packaging. However, the former should take the initiative so that the positive changes in terms of sustainable development are more likely.