Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Given the increasing concern about waste from packaging severely polluting the environment, the question of whether producers and major retailers or consumers are held accountable for such a problem has been receiving public attention. From my standpoint, changes from both are placed on the same level of importance. It is understandable why some argue that companies should take responsibility for limiting their use of packaging due to possible reactions from consumers. Large firms and supermarkets initiating actions against wasting resources on packaging tend to enjoy much appreciation from the public. For example, the MM Supermarket in Vietnam has utilized readily-available materials such as hay and banana leaves to pack their vegetables and fruits. They also offer discounts to customers who bring personal shopping bags. Such changes have not only saved the company costs but also brought about positive reactions from the public. Having said that, changes in customer behaviour is of equal importance in the fight against the unnecessary use of packaging. It stands to reason that manufacturers seem to invest a whopping amount of money in the looks of their goods in the hope of attracting customers in a sea of other competitors. However, if consumers buy goods with layers after layers of packaging, the redundant materials will eventually end up in their bin, which is not only a waste of money but also contributes to the plastic pollution crisis. Instead, customers can opt to shop more sustainably, which can be as simple as being mindful about their shopping choices and paying attention to not only the inside but also the outside. In conclusion, I believe that not only producers and supermarkets but also customers should divert their attention to goods with less or no packaging. Considering the urgent plastic crisis, actions from both sides must be taken; otherwise; the unwanted results of this harmful practice may be irreversible.