Rising university fees and limited employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and should only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increment of unemployment among graduates and increasing cost of tertiary education over the years has led to subjects such as philosophy and history being perceived as unreasonable to be taught in universities as compared to practical subjects which may lead to better employment prospects. From my viewpoint, art subjects are essential to nation-building and individual growth and should be appreciated as much as what is deemed as practical degrees. Art subjects are important to individual growth. One may develop critical thinking skills, debating using concrete arguments and understand the different behaviours by learning subjects such as philosophy. In fact, even before the modernization of the current era, the study has produced profound figures like Socrates and Aristotle. Their contributions speak volume regarding the importance of the discipline. Additionally, these figures have built the building blocks towards the current way of thinking which repeatedly stress the importance of critical and creative thinking. Moreover, analytical thinking that was introduced is important to understand certain occurrence in the world such as in politics, economy and human behaviour. On the other hand, the importance of subjects like engineering, accountancy and law is unquestionable. The increasing business activities led to higher demand for the aforementioned subjects’ graduates. Both multinational companies and small enterprises require prospective employees to have profit-boosting attributes with emphasis on technological skills. Consequently, as the demand is high, students seek to only study related subjects which will increase their chances for employment. In short, I disagree with the statement that arts subject should not be taught. Practical subjects do increase skills and knowledge of graduates to fit the demand of the job market. However, art subjects are essential to the development of individual and country. Hence, in my opinion, universities should offer both types of courses.