Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays children like to spend most of their free time with gadgets like computer or mobile phone for playing fascinating games, this routine has stopped their physical activities. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can disturb children lifestyle and affect social activities. One serious problem that can arise from this addiction towards computer games is that it restricts the overall growth of a child. The unrestricted exposure to screen has given birth to numerous diseases like obesity and low IQ level. For instance, students after coming back from school continuously play video games on the laptop instead of going outside to play with their friends and do physical activities. Additionally, this development has also influenced the involvement of children in extra-curricular activities at schools. They hardly feel encouraged to pursue sports activities in school because of computer games dominance. This kind of behaviour can result in inappropriate growth of a child's brain. Another issue is the reduction in social interaction. Instead of moving out of the house, making new friends, getting involved in various games children like to spend time in isolation with their gadgets. This unfriendly behaviour is one of the reasons for progressively increase in stress and depression issues in early ages among youngsters. Recently, in a newspaper column, it was shown how children take computer games so serious that they start feeling worthless if they lose in it. This development might seem innovative or new to parents but in the long run,it can have disastrous effects on their children lives. In conclusion, although technology has revolutionized our lives by inventing gadgets it has brought too many problems for children by introducing attractive games.