Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Presently, urbanisation has brought many concerns for individuals. Contemporary society has to deal with the rise of traffic and pollution, searching for assertive solutions that will solve this matter. In this regard, some people believe that the increasing of the price of petrol is an effective way to reduce traffi and pollution. Others claim that this is not a viable answer and it would not solve this problem. From my point of view, increase the price of gasoline will not deliver better results to the community. Firstly, it is unlikely that people that already have a car would change their routines to take public transports due to the value of gasoline. Thereby, it will affect directly vehicles-owners that also pays for insurance. Take South America as an example. The number of cars has risen over the decades despite the high value of gasoline and alcohol. Moreover, there are many initiatives to decrease pollution that has been taken by the government that are fruitful and do not have negative features to society, such as the reduced amount of plastic consume and the research of others energy resources that are not as impactful as gasoline to ecosystem. However, it is understandable that a group of people believe that this will tackle the situation. Many people claim that as the use of cars and motocycles is not worth it due to the costs, owners will start to take turn between vehicles and subways or buses. Nevertheless, as a direct response, this is likely to reduce the amout of polluted gases leaked in the atmosphere. This same group stake that in cities with a high living cost is difficult to maintain extra bills that are expensive. As far as I am concerned, the stablishment of a raised value of such an important item in people lives is likely to nurture future social inequality. Although the proposal might be attractive, it will only benefit the enriched and prejudice the impoverished. Many people use their automobile to work as an uber, or taxist. To conclude, it is important to analyse all perspectives to tacke this trouble. The purpose it is to find acceptable offers that will benefit both sides: nature and civilization. For that reason, it is highly dangerous to propose an alternative that involves a subject with extreme importance to the well-being of people. It is necessary to invest in others resolutions such as researches and other souces of energy.