Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by some individuals that subjects like mathematics and philosophy have to be made optional instead of compulsory since some children find them tough. The essay will explain why these subjects should be made optional; followed by a reasoned conclusion. Every child has its own strengths and weaknesses but it is a duty of the system to more emphasize the strengths and improve them by providing a suitable environment. For example, the capability of the fish can't be judged by the competition of a climbing tree. Similarly, we can't judge the capabilities of a student just be some few mandatory subjects. Moreover, every individual has its own role to develop the society, therefore we shouldn't put a stamp on some selected subjects such as mathematics as the mark of intelligence. In addition to this, the students can put more focus on the subjects of their strength which reduce their mental pressure and improve their performance in the subjects of their strong hands. Moreover, they will be more confident and happy to deal with the situations. For instance, a student who likes football will never enjoy the mathematical formulas, thus he loses his interest and will fail the exam which ultimately breaks the confidence of the pupil. Therefore, expertise in one subject is always better than being average or poor in all subjects. To conclude, However, basic knowledge of every subject should be mandatory but after a certain level all subjects should be optional and must be picked on the basis of the interest area of the student. A person can only be successful by chasing excellence.