Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society.

Science has been the reason why we have progressed in our societal development; however, nowadays authorities want to know the reasons for the alarming trend of reduced science majors in universities and explore the ramifications on countries experiencing this. This essay will discuss the above arguments in great details. First of all, one of the most significant reasons for the problem of lacking students who are specialising in science is that they were not learning in a proper way in high schools. As a result of this, when the time came for university, they choose any subjects to be specialized in except science. For example, according to a study carried out by educational institutions in the USA confirms that 80% of students prefer to specialize in engineering and literature due to they are easy to pass. Secondly, science is one of the most difficult and effort-consuming subjects. Not only these reasons but also there are still implicitly gender stereotypes spread in the whole world and these stereotypes are connecting 'Girls' with 'Arts' and 'Boys' with ' Science '. Turning to the consequences of minimizing science specialists in society. this issue has many detrimental effects, one of the most significant influences is that it leads to less new inventions in the country which are essential to the prosperity and development of the country. Take Egypt, for example, there are fewer inventions there compared to the UK, and this is because of the decreasing number of science students. Another issue is that these reductions have an awful implication with the country's economy, and this is because the local government will have to import scientists from other countries to recover its shortage in these majors. In conclusion, Although science speciality is tough and demanding and one needs a lot of efforts to be a scientist or even specialist in it, the whole world in need to this kind of majors in order to develop and improve scientifically and economically.