Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The discussion about whether or not companies should require a dress code among the member of the staff in today’s complex society raises a thorny question. In my view, it depends on the types of organizations and jobs as I will support my stand with valid arguments in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, it is irrefutable fact that there exist companies such as governmental organizations, restaurants, banks or hotels which require employees to communicate with customers. Consequently, they want their workers to look tidy and smart in order to catch the customers attention at the first view and also it helps to differentiate customers with the staff members. For example, if waiters wear the same clothes as customers at the restaurant guests might be confused about who is the employee while ordering their meals. Despite the above argument, I tend to believe that companies like media or development agencies prefer to develop flexible work environment for their staff. Because those organizations are producing products to their customers, however, their top requirement is a high-quality result. Another key sticking point is that, if managers limit their employees with their dress whose works require creativity, there is no chance to get a better result from their products. For example, designers or artists love to wear colourful clothes and these are an inspiration for their work, if they are limited to wear only a white t-shirt they tend to lose their inspiration and it will affect their job. In conclusion, it seems to me that the discussion about the employees' clothes mostly depends on the organizations and the types of the works employees do.