Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this age of multiple mediums, advertising is everywhere. Advertisements play a key role in the sales of consumer goods. Everywhere we go, everywhere we look, we are inundated with messages and promotions of goods and products by the celebrity icons. However, to some extent,I do agree that commercial advertisements of products tempt the human mind to buy different things but the majority of purchase decisions are not influenced by advertisements. Although a good advertisement tells us we need something even before we think we do. Celebrity advertisements convince the buyer the ideal life, the ideal body, the ideal mate, all wrapped in the ideal world by using their advertised products. These methods have been successful in some cases, especially for affluent people who want to be in fashion and able to afford luxurious goods. However, not every investment decision is made under the influence of advertisements. Advertisements serve to inform customers about the new launches and products in the markets. People consider different factors such as budget range, their requirement and the quality of the product and also after-sales services of the item before they make a purchase. A new Laptop, for example, may have more advanced technology making user's life more convenient, a celebrity as its brand icon with very nice advertisements is not sufficient for a buyer to purchase it unless there is fulfilments of several factors including its quality and requirement.   In conclusion, while I believe advertisement sometimes encourage people to buy unnecessary items, nevertheless most blockbusting products are those that meet consumer’s need, expectations and affordability.