Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many nations have been using air transport to export fruits and vegetables to different parts of the world where they cannot be produced or not seasonal. While people can get the chance to eat various types of fruits and vegetables throughout the year, it hikes the prices once they are exported from another country and is the foremost disadvantage. People can get even those vegetables and fruits which are not generally grown in their country. In fact, it provides them the likelihood to taste and eat diverse varieties of these edibles. Air transport is the quickest way as compared to the other modes of transport and as the self-life of fruits and vegetables is also less. They get rot quickly. So, this requires some fast medium to transport it from one country to another. For example, the average temperature in South America is not favorable to grow fruits and vegetables, so most of these products are generally imported from North America. People are totally relying on North America for various fruits and vegetables. Once these fruits and vegetables are exported, then their prices are likely to hike by 40 to 50 percent due to air transportation charges and taxes involved between the two nations. Consequently, only a few people are able to afford such fruits and vegetables. For instance, the Kiwi fruit is cheapest in Japan as compared to the other countries because it is produced there. In conclusion, importing fruits and vegetables from other countries can be beneficial as people get the chance to taste and eat different varieties of them. However, it is important to consider the increased cost involved in it.