Many parents are unhappy because of the increasing amount of violence in their children by computer games, TV programs and other leisure activities. What are the harmful effects of such violent programs on children? What are the solutions for this problem?

Over the last few years, children’s violent behaviours have soared immensely. This is because they have been affected by the increasing violence in video games, TV shows and movies which causes their parents to be upset. This essay will discuss the adverse effects of such media on children and provide some reasonable solutions to help mitigate this issue. To begin with, watching fierce scenes on computer games or TV programs has devastating impacts on children’s attitudes. One of the most catastrophic effects is that they make a child aggressive. Since juniors tend to imitate everything they see by nature, they start practicing those violent actions against their peers at schools. Consequently, it has been proven that children who watch violent movies are more aggressive than those who follow non-violent shows. Another harmful effect of violent games on the juniors is that they encourage them to become fearless and delinquents. For instance, players in such games engage in bad activities such as being a member of a gang. Therefore, children may get a wrong message from them and think that those misdeeds are accepted in society. Regarding the solutions, it is a shared responsibility among governments and parents to take serious steps in order to tackle this problem. As for governments, only when they impose strict censorship on all media will it be possible to curb their harmful influence on children. To illustrate, in Canada it is totally prohibited to include any violence in video games which have fruitful consequences on Canadian teenagers. Furthermore, parents should supervise their offspring constantly. Indeed, if they manage to monitor what their children follow, they will indirectly control their attitudes as well. In conclusion, in this technological era, juniors are becoming increasingly violent and fearless owing to the impacts of the media on them. However, governments and parents can ameliorate these issues by strict censorship and constant supervising.