Parents and teachers make many rules for children to encourage good behaviour and to protect them from danger. However, children would benefit from fewer rules and greater freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Handling kids is a much-debated topic. Parents and teachers come up with strict guidelines and many rules for children so that they behave good and to keep them safe. On the contrary, I believe fewer rules with lots of freedom will help children to develop themselves as a good human being and also it ensures their safety. In this essay, I will examine why providing liberty and restricting them less is necessary. Firstly, teenage is a crucial period of children's growth as during this period they develop several qualities. These attributes will shape them as a better individual with values in future. Parents and teachers should not be too conservative in their approach as this might result in a kid becoming narrow-minded and not open for new ideas. One should not be forced to bind by the rules, because they will end up becoming dependent on every aspect of life. When a child is made to follow strict directives given by the elders, he/she may lose to think independently. For example, from a very young age if one is taught to behave in a certain way then even when the situation demands a kid cannot think of any innovative ways of handling the situation. Secondly, too much of restriction will indeed have a negative impact on children mentally. When they are caged more and more, they develop a rebellious attitude within themselves which might burst out in future. For example, there was an incident in my hometown, where a teenage kid was denied a mobile phone for several days to play. As a result, the child in anger left the house and lost the way while coming back home. Hence, when kids are tied up there is a high chance that they take extreme steps which parents and teachers will have to regret later. Hence, a few necessary rules and greater freedom will help the overall benefit of an individual from childhood. To conclude, I believe any boy/girl should not be treated with too many restrictions. Instead, let them enjoy their independence so that they can explore new ideas and impose a few necessary rules which will shape them as better citizens in the future.