Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be done about it?

There is an inclination of students towards university courses, with a future perspective of grabbing a good pay job upon graduation. In reality, many fresh graduates fail to find the type of work they are looking forward to and some may even take up jobs not relevant to their field. This is due to the lack of real-life job experiences and competitive job market conditions, many university graduates find themselves drifting from their desired career path. In my opinion, the root of this problem lies in the impractical higher education coursework which needs to be modernized. Moreover, the traditional university curriculum focuses on the theoretical aspect that doesn't’ bridge the gap of providing practical knowledge of jobs he/she may be looking for. One popular reason is that university programs are mostly theory-based. This lacks a practical hands-on job experience and basic skills in a candidate. For instance, knowledge of coding is required in IT/ Computers for an Engineering student. Just passing the university exams and getting coding certificates won’t land them a job. Another reason is the viewpoint is rising competition in jobs. Students take up a course without knowing its upcoming job opportunities. Lack of guidance from professors, creates a vague idea about the possible career path. I believe that there is a solution following “one stone that kills two birds”. Reforming the education system that is feasible by following a tripartite relationship with Government, universities and the companies. Firstly, companies can mention their requisite skills regarding the type of jobs they are looking for. Secondly, to help students get good placements, universities can design coursework according to the right market fit requirement imparting practical experience in their field. Thirdly, government validation is needed to implement changes in this contemporary structure. This will help to avoid overflowing candidates in the job pool and help them acquire a better fit job in future. To conclude, the current scenario of the prevailing education prospectus will not change if universities don’t take the necessary steps to make a change. Individuals have to gear up with practicalities of work and challenging market situations.