In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

In some parts of the world young adults have a tendency to live alone or with their friends when they graduated from high school. This new trend exerts a positive influence on the personal development of younger people despite the minor drawbacks. Moving away from parent’s house helps youngers to be more responsible for their actions. It develops a sense of accountability when they are no longer depending on their parents to look after them. Not only do they learn how to take care of themselves, but also they learn how to be committed toward their financial obligations, such as apartment rent and electricity bill. A study made by Oxford University found that 78 of graduated students felt that they have obtained a valuable experience about life when they have been living on their own. Hence, this tendency would teach youngsters to be more independent, which prepares them for real-life situations. Conversely, younger adults are more likely to fall in troubles that cost them a lot when they are away from their parents. They tend to follow their friend’s advice instead of parents, which might direct them toward wrongful actions. The Sunday Times recently reported that most crimes happen when young adults lived on their owns or with someone else. Hence, they are more likely to do illegal doings if they continue to hang out with bad people so that they could easily adapt to the new environment. In conclusion, I believe this tendency would have significant development in the life of younger adults because it fosters a sense of responsibility. Although it teaches this category to be accountable for their actions, it might put them in situations where they have to commit wrongful doings.