Many people believe that the high levels of violence in films today are causing serious social problems. What are these problems and how could they be reduced?

In this day and age, it is frequently believed that the rise of violence in movies can result in severe social issues. In this essay, I will discuss some consequences caused by watching violent content in films and propose some feasible measures to tackle this problem. First of all, it is true that a large amount of violent content in movies has a strong correlation with negative influences on viewers. According to some research, frequently watching violent and lawless actions can distort viewers’ perceptions about the seriousness and consequences of such actions. In such movies, people who commit crimes such as murder can have no criminal conviction as well as escape the punishments. As a result, viewers form a misperception that copying these aggressive behaviors is a way to gain respect and admiration, leading the increase in the levels of violence and law-offending attempts in real life such as bullying in schools and mass shotting at public places. In order to mitigate such a problem, the collaboration of different parties is of vital importance. To be more specific, the governments should be responsible for censoring films prior to their official nationwide launching, with extreme and too bloody scenes being cut and modified carefully. In addition, cinemas also need to strictly classify and label films based on age, preferences and audiences so that impressionable youngsters can be restricted from watching unsuitable films. Lastly, it is film makers that should incorporate messages about justice and responsibility in films as a way to raise people’s awareness about consequences when commiting offences and emphasize the long-term effects of violent acts. In conclusion, the negative impacts of violent elements in films are varied, particularly in misleading the public and stimulating anti-social behavior and crime in society. Therefore, solutions and actions from governmental bodies, cinemas and film producers are essential to prevent such undesired implications.