Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that the main driving force behind people's shopping habits is the power of advertising rather than the need. This essay agrees that people buy goods based on catchy commercials instead of the quality and their necessities up to a certain extent, but it can be argued that some of the purchasing decisions are based on the true desires of customers. On the one hand, advertisements and commercials play a key role in attracting customers. This is because they highlight the updated features of brand-new gadgets, and celebrities can be hired to promote the products in order to encourage more people to purchase goods whether they need them or not. For instance, many individuals decide to buy a new iPhone although the new releases are similar to the old ones that are still working. As a consequence, this has pushed so many people to spend extra money on things they do not need just to own the newest brand on the market. On the other hand, some people seem to purchase some products depending on their requirements. It cannot be denied that some of the newly released goods can have some features that may meet the customer's satisfaction and make their lives easier. As a result, it would not be fair to claim that most of the purchases are done due to advertising alone. For example, a new car might have interesting featured such as a powerful engine, and this might appeal to many consumers. In conclusion, even though some purchases made by people are attributed to the effect of commercials, some individuals buy products because they are improved, updated, and meet their demands.