Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent they have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

In this day and age, several enterprises expand their business outside the original country to meet the demand of the consumers. I totally agree with the view that these multinational companies should be responsible for the environmental and social aspects of the regions where they set up their buildings. To begin, many reasons are given to explain why multinational companies should have accountable toward locals. First and foremost, the natural environment could be polluted by the manufacturing procedure of the company. To be more specific, constructing buildings, untreated waste or the gases released from the process could cause air and water pollution. Moreover, they also exploit non-renewable resources, which leads to resource exhaustion and devastate the local industry. Thus, it is essential to re-invest revenue into schemes to prevent pollution and guarantee the long-term development of local communities. Secondly, multinational enterprises should offer employment opportunities at the local level. For example, they could offer the local workers an adequate salary and welfare insurance to have a good quality of life. Moreover, these firms should invest in workforce training, and support institutions of learning to advance their worker’ skills. It is clear that trained workers are more productive and alert to the importance of health and safety at work. As a result, an educated workforce gives the companies more flexibility, as skilled employees can switch from one task to another to meet production demand. In conclusion, when considering both positive and negative impacts on the environment and society, I am firmly convinced that multinational corporations should have responsibilities towards the local communities in which they located.