Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Watching films is a popular way to entertain. The competition between international films versus locally made films is highly dominated by one side, foreign films. The essay will analyse the root cause of this phenomenon and explain why the government should fund local film industries. Firstly, the casts of foreign films are often far better compared to local actors and actresses. For example, nearly 90 per cent of Vietnamese viewers rated the Vietnamese-adapted version of Descendants of the Sun much lower than the original version made by Korean because of poor acting performance. Although the contents between two versions, internally produced series and local series, are similar, the acting of international stars is far superior to the local ones. This helps to explain why people are fond of foreign series over the one made by the local film producers. A possible solution which can improve the rating of locally made films is that the government should provide more funding to universities which train future actors and actresses. A leading example is the government of South Korea. To be more specific, they have invested billions of dollars in institutions which offer casting classes since 2000 so that Korea can produce Hollywood-equivalent casts. This financial support has been paid off as Korean made movies have been consistently won internationally recognized awards, such as Oscars. In short, government funding is necessary for local form makers to improve film quality. To conclude, acting performance is a reason for the fact that local viewers favour internationally made films over the local ones. Moreover, the government plays an important role to financially support local firm producers. In the future, in some countries such as Korea and Vietnam, local films will be preferred options for local viewers.