Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employment has been seen as an attractive alternative to getting stuck in the corporate world. The main reason for this choice is perceived freedom, which one may expect through self-employment. Two main disadvantages of being self-employed are exposure to greater financial risks and higher stress levels. In this essay, reasons for self-employment popularity and disadvantages of the same will be discussed. To begin with, a lot of people point to the lack of freedom in the current corporate world as the biggest reason to choose self-employment over a standard nine to five job. Firstly, modern corporate employment could be very stressful, demanding and less forgiving. Secondly, most people who tend to prefer self-employment do not have a 360-degree view of what it takes to be successful. For instance, not even 5% of self employees get successful in the first year, whereas less than 1% of them go beyond 3 years. Thirdly, in the early years usually you have to work around the clock to be successful as a self-employed person which could be even more stressful than a standard corporate job. Hence, this common delusion of a higher freedom level leads to the choice of self-employment over a routine job. On other hand, as a result of unsuccessful self-employments, there are thousands of people who run into enormous financial difficulties and often end up with greater stress levels. At first, self-employees usually provide the capital they need through bank loans and when their employments fail they run into debt problems. Subsequently, these challenges could lead to higher stress levels which can affect one’s health as well. As an example, there have been a lot of media reports related to family issues and crimes that have been caused by higher stress levels due to unsuccessful self-employment attempts. Thus, it is important to realise the financial risks and higher stress levels are two disadvantages one could overcome in order to be successful in self-employment. In conclusion, it seems there is a big demand for self-employment currently, mostly due to the lack of awareness of the full picture. This could lead to serious risks related to financial instability plus mental health unless otherwise, someone is fully aware of such risks. Therefore, people who are planning to choose self-employment over a corporate job should perform due diligence before making the final choice.