In some countries students are required to learn a foreign language but in other countries it is not necessary to do so. Discuss the benefits of each case and give your opinion.

Nowadays, due to the advancement of technology people know multiple languages other than their mother-tongue. The majority of individuals travel to a different nation for work, studies or as a tourist. In some countries, it is compulsory to take-in a non-native language whereas in other countries it is not mandatory. In the following paragraphs, I intend to discuss both the views and put forth my opinion below. To embark on learning an additional language in school, firstly, many people have started migrating to another country. For such individuals, it is always better to learn an additional language. If the language is taught in childhood they only need to practise further. For instance, it is always better to learn Chinese or french as these are other widely spoken languages. Moreover, knowing a different language can help in the workplace to communicate. Learning a language after school days can costs you more but if such facilities are available and comfortable for students then it is always better to utilise the opportunity. On the other hand, a language can be learned at any stage of life. Students are loaded with numerous subjects to learn. Additionally, learning an alternative language from the base, which is not part of their daily communication, will put them into trouble. For instance, there are families who do not know french but if a child has taken french to learn in school it will be difficult for the parents to teach them, as they do not know. After pondering on both the case, in my opinion, it is not compulsory to learn an additional language in schools. Moreover, personal choice matters. For instance, India is a multi-cultural society following different languages. Although Hindi is the official language, there are many people who do not know Hindi but understands English. Thus, it is always better to learn the widely accepted language, to read, write and speak such that a person will be able to survive in any part of the world. To summarise, learning an additional language is always better for an individual. Therefore, it is not compulsory to learn an outside language. However, taking in an additional language can benefit in the future.