Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In recent years, movies have gradually become an important part of people's lives. There is no doubt that foreign films become more predominant in many countries than domestically produced ones. There are several reasons for the tendency and I strongly believe that the governments should promote movies which produce locally by subsidising the industry. Many people find foreign films more satisfying than local ones for various reasons. The most important one is some of the top movies were invested in massive budgets for actions, special effects, and to shoot scenes in spectacular locations. Hollywood blockbusters like “Avatar” or “The Avengers” are some case in point for a great investment. Another reason why these international movies are prevalent is that they often hire the most famous actors, actresses and talented directors. If we put in comparison with local low-budget filmmaking, the poor quality is understandable. In terms of financial assistance to local film industries, it is indisputable that the government should give more to the producers. Indigenous filmmakers who are talented, just need a sum of money in order to pay for employees, actors or any other costs related to producing which plays an essential role in creating a masterpiece. If governments did help with these costs, they will witness an increase in film industry's employment, income from sales, and perhaps even a rise in tourist numbers. Another point worth noting is some movies can be used as a country's business card to the world and will attract substantial tourists and bring tremendously greater revenue than an investment. In short, I always believe that there should be an adjustment in terms of financial support for the film-making industry in order to survive among foreign productions.