Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Many individuals believe that living in a house is better than to live in a flat. Surely, there are many advantages for both settings but in my opinion, the drawbacks of living in a house outweigh the benefits. On one hand, houses have some advantages compared with apartments. The main one is the privacy of living in a house since the neighbours are not so close when in a flat people share a wall with them so they can hear most of what individuals do at their home. Another benefit is that houses are more spacious than apartments, the rooms are bigger so it is easier to fit everything an individual needs while in apartments people have to squeeze their furniture and belongings and because of that they do not live as comfortable as individuals who live in a house. On the other hand, there are also many disadvantages to living in houses. Firstly, there is less security comparing with a flat where usually there is private security at the entrance day and night. People who live in houses frequently have problems when they go out of town for a few days because there is no one at home so it is easy for thieves to break in. Secondly, the expenses of maintaining a house are higher than an apartment. For instance, the exterior painting and gardening of a house can be a big part of the family budget while in flats these are shared with many other residents. Finally, living in a house can be lonely because the neighbours are too far away and in flats, they are just across the hall, so the individual always has someone to count on in emergencies. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that the disadvantages of living in a house such as lack of security, larger expenses and also not having close relationships with the neighbours are greater than the advantages of having more privacy and space.