Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a consequence of a rise in university tuition costs and limited graduate employment opportunities, it is often argued that university ought to provide only degree courses which are practical rather than the arts. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint as I believe that topics such as art and philosophy can help students develop critical thinking skills and also make a significant contribution to society. First of all, critical thinking abilities are one of the most crucial qualities in most career paths not only in artistic fields but also including scientific fields such as medicine and engineering. These essential skills can be learnt to develop and gained through studying art such as humanity and history. To clarify, by studying these, students become an active thinker who is able to solve problems, evaluate different options and make a reasoned decision. Therefore, although these skills themselves do not guarantee that postgraduates will get a rewarding job, they in fact enhance employment prospects as most companies consider them valuable in employees. Furthermore, expertise in certain areas such as art and philosophy allows graduates to contribute considerably to our society. This is because culture and history are a fundamental foundation of the nation. To clarify, the development and improvement of the country would not be able to happen if people did not have a deep understanding of their own history and learn from their past mistakes. Despite the fact that there is no question about the value of medicine, science and business in our lives, it is clear that humanities also make a valuable contribution. In conclusion, it is unreasonable to suggest that art subjects should not be taught in universities because critical thinking skills and knowledge of culture and history from studying them can benefit both graduates and our society.