In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As we all are aware getting old is inevitable. In some countries like Britain, once an individual becomes old they prefer to stay in an old age home with their age group people. Occasionally, the expenses incurred will be taken care of by the government. In my opinion, I believe that both family and government are equally responsible as they have spent their entire life serving public and private sectors Firstly, to commence with, family plays a substantial role in providing comfort to their elders, therefore sending them to old-homes due to negligence and considering the duty of a son or a daughter as a burden should be taken off. As well as it is crucial to remember that when you were a child, your parents protected you and took good care of you by providing all the necessaries; along with unconditional love. As they grow older it turns out to be the children’s accountability by holding this famous saying in mind “what goes around comes around”. For instance, grandchildren visiting their grandparents in home-cares, will affect the young minds adversely and keeping that in mind such unethical habit should not be portrayed or transferred to the next generation. Second and furthermore, senior individuals have worked for decades and had paid a huge amount of money to the government as a loyal taxpayer, eventually, when they become older the federal authorities can play an essential role by paying back to them when they are in need. The financial situation in families varies from one to another and for a genuine case with proper verification, government officials can be kind enough to bear the expenses. To cite an example, one of my friends, who lost his job due to pandemic, was not able to take care of his old parents with all the medical and living expenditures. In order to provide better food and health, he had requested for free admission for his father and mother at one of the government old care homes. Hence, such a situation can be considered based on authenticity and humanity. In summary, financial support for elderly citizens should be a responsibility for both the family and the government. However, because the government is more stable they should take greater responsibility.