More and more businesses, as well as individuals, are choosing to either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

The advent of technology has changed completely the manner that people interact with each other. Even companies are opting for virtual meetings rather than presencial ones. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of using new technologies as a way of communication. On the one hand, it is true that technology has provided remarkable advantages both to companies and people. Companies, for example, can lower their running costs by choosing to not use an office. This is because offices are expansive to rent and, as the internet provides virtual reunion, there is no need to pay for those places. At the same time, ordinary people can benefit because they will not need to spend long hours commuting and, therefore, they will have more free time. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages to using this kind of communication. First, companies are not able to check if their employees are working properly. Second, there are no reliable studies concerning whether or not workers produce what is expected from them when they are working from home. Not only using technology for communication can bring some negative sides for companies, but also for people. It is true that virtual meetings allow people to work anywhere, however, employees may feel the need to have face to face interaction. The reason is that humans beings need to have physical contact with each other. To sum up, at the same time that virtual meetings can bring positive sides, it can also bring some disadvantages. Both people and companies should decide what is the right balance between those options.