Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely considered that committing traffic offences should be highly punishable and people violating road transportation rules should be penalized. In the discussion further, I would like to highlight my agreement with this decision of discipling individuals on transportation rules. I would also like to throw some light on how lenient ordinance could lead to road accidents in our day-to-day life. The main reasons for traffic offences being careless,low attention span and lack of time. In recent days, people are not paying attention to the highway mandate. Statistics show that, In almost all the cities, the mishaps on the road are caused due to the disobedience of traffic code. For instance, In my country, India, which comparatively does not have a firm set of the directive on the carriage by road, accidents have been quite common. The newspapers are flooded with information about motor accidents as well as the "Hit and run" cases. There is no strict action taken in most of the scenarios. Although, the issues can be taken in control by different means, which is not a stringent punishment. I believe that these issues should be handled with a different approach. If human-kind is educated about the consequences of not being disciplined then the world could be a better place. To give a clear idea, In a place like India there are signs put up all over like "Do not drink and drive" and "Keep distance". In addition to that, the government authorities should set up surveys, awareness camps and post attractive and attention seeking content on social media for the younger generation. For example, In Bengaluru, which is the silicon valley of India, the traffic police committee ("Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Police thane") is doing a wonderful job by posting eye-catching animations over the internet. To conclude, instead of just taking stern action against individuals overstepping the traffic laws, people should be aware of the number of hazards caused due to a violation of the rules of road transport. Additionally, negative actions can be avoided by knowledge.