Some poeple say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say tha it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today’s generation, one of the main concern of the parents lies in keeping children occupied in their spare time. Because of this, some people argue that kids should be encouraged to participate in group activities while others believe that children should be left on their own to figure out how to involve themselves in other tasks. In my opinion, organising activities in which these youngsters can participate, is the better practice as this helps them learn how to be proactive and competitive at the same time. On the one hand, children need to be interactive and learn how to express themselves without offending others. Therefore, organising programs that help them get exposure to different human behaviours and learn how to handle the situations is the favourable choice. One clear example is discussing topics in the class when the teacher finishes the course before time. Eventually, if the teacher asked the children to do whatever they wish in spare time, none of them would have chosen to study. On the other hand, the youth for which the parents are concerned about is in their learning phase and hence require guidance to learn the difference between the good and the bad. Furthermore, given a chance to utilise the free time it is more favourable for them to opt for watching television, playing video games or spending time on social media. As a result, they isolate themselves which latter push them to grow as an introvert personality and fail to express their thoughts or concerns. Thus, parents should guide them and motivate participating in group activities. To conclude, even if the whole concept is to teach a child how to be independent and find the path of their own, it is important to help them understand the pros and cons of the selections. Hence, parents should motivate their child to take part in activities in groups rather than making their own choices to help them have better exposure and mindset.