Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by numerous companies that employees should wear clothes as per the requirements of their job. While others are of the opinion that they should give more importance to their performance instead of dressing smartly. This essay agrees that work should be given more importance than the dress. Both of these views will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, many organisations suggest, their employees should focus on their attire because they think that it affects their appearance and hence the attitude of customers towards them. Furthermore, it creates a disciplined environment in an office. For example, if a receptionist looks sober and decent in a dress then he or she will have a better impression on the customers. But in the contemporary world, no one has time to observe anyone's attire. Moreover, nowadays everyone is focussed on how fast and efficiently their work was completed instead of getting impressed with the dressing sense of somebody. On the contrary, some organisations are of the opinion that the quality of the task is more crucial than the employee's appearance. An employee should be more productive and talented so that he can prove his worth in an organisation by delivering quality of work. For instance, studies show that if workers are given a little freedom regarding their dress and time then they tend to work more enthusiastically and perform better than their counterparts on whom some kind of dress or uniform idea was imposed forcefully. To conclude, although dressing sense used to matter a lot in the bygone era and customers used to get impressed with the attire of the people, in current time no one cares for anyone's dressing sense and everybody wants their employees to perform more productively instead of focussing on their appearance.