Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology is dominating in people's daily life and has brought drastic changes in the lives of individuals. Its advantages clearly outweigh the drawbacks and it will be justified in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, advancement in information technology has offered many benefits to mankind and successfully has changed their way of living. Now, people can buy anything from home with just a click of a button using the internet. Furthermore, it has revolutionized the way of working at offices and completely replaced the old fashioned paperwork and storage of information. In addition to that, apart from playing games and watching movies in leisure time, individuals can use this technology to track their run or cycling activities. For instance, in the bygone era, everyone used to store their data in registers but the evolution of information technology has made it possible to store the thousands of megabyte data in a small hard disk. On the contrary, it has few drawbacks also like it is addictive and people are becoming dependent over the technology in an unprecedented manner. As a result, it will have an impact on their psychosocial wellbeing. However, this drawback is not significant in broader perspectives as studies have shown that less than 0.01 per cent of the users develop some psychological problems. Moreover, these problems can be treated effectively if consulted with a doctor. To conclude, information technology has an awful lot of positive impact on human's lives and its advantages in daily personal and professional life like storage of data clearly outweigh its disadvantages such as psychosocial issues which do not affects many users.